Chic in the City: Nicole Siobal

1 Jun

The very first time I met Nicole Siobal was on a busy evening at City Tavern Club for the first Luke’s Wings executive committee meeting.  The pint sized fashionista was to join the public relations committee to help throw our very first event for the charity. My friend Ebong Eka, a menswear designer in Washington and a fellow African, who was friends with Nicole invited me for drinks and dinner to get to know her a little more. Thus, a friendship was born.  I’m comfortable to say that I’ve known Nicole for about two years now and there is a never been a moment where she was too busy to help a friend with charity events.

Nicole Siobal has been instrumental in a myriad of charity organizations in the city, from Ready, Willing and Working to Luke’s Wings to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and organizations in between.  With a plate so full of a full time job and her aspirations of starting social media and community based initiatives for charity, Nicole had the time to run for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Man & Woman of the Year Campaign; dedicating her campaign to her friend Joy Saroja Drumheller, who at the young age of 27, lost her battle to stomach cancer, with a campaign titled en.JOY for LLS.

With an army of well connected Washingtonians on her side, Nicole set out to create a social conscious campaign that would educate and inspire guests to donate to the mission of finding a cure for a disease that does not discriminate.  Blood cancers affect the young, the old, black, white, rich, poor, blind, disabled, Christian, Buddhist; it doesn’t matter your situation.  Nicole, along with over a dozen men and women set out to raise money for LLS, a cause I have come to adopt as my own because of its ravaging effects on people I’ve grown to know and love.

As the campaign winds down, I got the opportunity to steal Nicole away for a few minutes to dish about fashion and what makes this city “home” to her. She talks candidly about her designer finds, what she grinds her gears, where to steal her look and more. The budding philanthropist, after the interview, told me of her final event, which is going to have the who’s who of Washington in attendance.  Washington Redskins tight end Clinton Portis, along with R&B singer Mya will present en.JOY… Reaching for the Stars, a celebrity charity date auction to support her campaign on June 8. She has enlisted the help of corporate sponsors and society magazines to make this event the fete of the MWOY Campaign 2010 and yours truly will be there to support her.

Name: Nicole Siobal
Age: 30
Job: Public Relations Consultant
Neighborhood: All around the District

How would you describe your look? Chic, classy, comfortable and sexy

What should every woman have in her wardrobe? A great timeless designer handbag and black stiletto heels. I am a firm believer that you can dress any outfit up with the right accessories and shoes.

Do you have a fashion mentor? Myself, I used to design my own clothes as a lil girl and have my mom saw them for me.

Who are your favorite designers? Tom Ford, Coco Chanel, Carolina Herrera, Dolce and Gabanna, Alexander Mc Queen, Christian Louboutin and John Galliano

What designers or labels do you actually wear the most? Balenciaga, Dolce and Gabanna, Dior, Chanel with a mix of Zara, Mango, American Apparel and a lil H & M. I like to mix things up to get that chic, classy and sexy feel.

First designer item ever bought? Fendi purse.

Where do you shop? It all depends. I can be found at the shoe and handbag department at Neimans and Saks or browsing around at Zara, which is my ultimate favorite store. They carry timeless and fashionable pieces at reasonable prices. I grew up wearing Zara since I am from Spain and always find something to my liking there. Their style is classy and chic with a touch of sass. Also love myself a bargain, love to hit the second hand boutiques in Miami.

What are you lusting after right now? The Fernando Christian Louboutins. I love heels. The higher the better! 4 inch plus… por favor! J

What’s the one thing you can’t live without? My Balenciaga bags. I have them in 4 different colors and sizes. They are the perfect every day bag and can be used at night with a nice dress or leggings and high pumps.

To Latenight or Not to Latenight? I am normally the girl jumping in a cab before everyone is ready to go home. My days are packed and fast paced so I wind down a little earlier than most. There is too much to do and such lil time

In one sentence, what do you actually do all day in your job? Too much to put in one sentence, but people come to me to get a lot of things done in a very short period of time.

What’s your favorite bar? I dont just have one. I like L2… There is something about the place that I love. Everything from the décor to the ambience and special cocktails.My new fave is Funxion. The place brings a different feel to DC, the decor is well thought of and their healthy menu and savory drinks are to die for!

What’s in your DVD player right now? Count of Monte Christo

How much is too much to spend on a pedicure? $20

When’s bedtime? 1 am or later. I tend to be a lil bit of a workaholic.

Brunch: pro or con? Pro all the way! Love to brunch with my friends and try different places around the city

Most expensive thing in your closet? My Python Silverado Chloe handbag

What do you hate most about living in DC? Social Climbers

Metro, Cab it or Drive? Public transportation. The only way to go in the nation’s capital. I hate traffic!

Style icon who represents your style the most? Mix of Penelope Cruz, Audrey Hepburn, and Jennife Lopez. Would love to one day have Emilda Marcus shoe collection! haha

Vogue, Elle or Bazaar? Bazaar

Ravens or Redskins? Not a big football fan, but would have to go with the Redskins and show my old buddy Gary Clark some love J

If you could be anything what would it be? A very successful CEO of various entities

Would you rather be a superhero or a villain? What powers would you have? A superhero for sure. I love helping others. The reason why I am so involved in non- profits around the city and why I am running for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Woman of the Year campaign. I enjoy the feeling of being able to help others in any way I can. The power to change global poverty


What is the one thing you do often when no one is looking? Sing… Although, I may not be that great at it.

Jewelry by Peruvian designer Evelyn Brooks

Leave a Reply

