Interview with nightlife guru Eric Lund

18 Feb

If you’ve been to Tattoo Bar, K Street Lounge, Lima, Lotus, Midtown or any of the DC night clubs, then you’ve probably been to an Eric Lund production. Eric, who is better known as E. Lund has been a promoter and a DC nightlife staple for almost a decade. He’s thrown some of the sickest parties this side of the beltway and has begun expanding to the West Coast with his Playboy Mansion parties. If you want to know where the hottest parties are, just find E. Lund or give him a call and he’ll put you on his list. I got E. Lund to give me the scoop on the DC nightlife and what it takes to get into some of these parties.

Eric Lund is showing some love to the Glamazon Diaries readers by giving one lucky fan and her friends a table and a bottle at Tattoo Bar next Wednesday, February 25. To enter, just leave a comment answering this question: What one product must you have with you when going out on the town?

How long have you been a promoter?
I’ve been a promoter for about 8 years. I started out throwing college parties when I attended GWU. After I graduated, I transitioned to upscale lounges and hosting events for DC’s elite professionals. I currently produce 3-4 weekly parties in DC and every 1-2 months, I host a special event in a different city. My last special event was New Year’s Eve at the Gansevoort Hotel in Miami. At the end of this month, I’m hosting a charity masquerade ball at The Playboy Mansion in Los Angeles (visit http://www.elundevents.com for details).
Hottest night to go out and where?
I prefer going out on weekdays over weekends because there’s usually a better crowd and it’s not as packed. A famous socialite once said, “Weekends are for amateurs.”

On any given day of the week, which club should you go to have a good time?
Well I’m usually working my events, but my favorite venues are Josephine, Midtown, Tattoo, Fly, and Lima.

What is the must have drink to try at a bar right now?
When I’m in the mood for a good drink, I go to The Gibson on 14th St or PX in Alexandria. I try something new every time I go there and all of their specialty drinks are fantastic!

Is bottle service better than just standing around and dancing? What are the advantages?
I definitely prefer bottle service because I don’t like to wait at the bar to order drinks. Granted it’s a little more expensive, but the additional VIP service you receive is worth it. My best advice if you are reserving a table with a group if friends is to collect $50-$100 from everybody at the beginning of the night, this way one person isn’t stuck with the bill at the end of the night.

If someone wants to go out on the town, can they call you to get special arrangements before they arrive?
Absolutely. I’ve been in this industry for a long time and I have a great network in other cities. My best connections are in Vegas, New York, Los Angeles, Miami, and Chicago. So if you want to reserve a table at a hot party in any of those cities, feel free to call me and I’ll gladly set it up.
Email: Eric@elundevents.com
Direct: 202.487.6874


Which celebs have you help party in the City?
I’ve accommodated countless athletes, musicians, and actors, but to name a few:
Michael Jordon
Tiger Woods
Mick Jagger
Shakira
George Clooney
Carmen Electra

What are your predictions for the top 5 hottest bars of 2009?
Policy (Opening in March and located at 14th and T St. NW)
Midtown
Fly
Josephine
Lima

5 Responses to “Interview with nightlife guru Eric Lund”

  1. Nightlife PR February 18, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    Makeda!! I love the blog layout and template! You rock girl! And you beat me to the idea of posting about promoters! Excellent work!I have been to the venues Eric mentions and I have been following him for a while. Being the new kid on the block I look to see what he is up to and the execution of promotion. Glad he took a minute to open up for the socialites that help make the party scene at upscale venues.to answer the question posed above: When you go out on the town the product you should always have is not just your ID and credit card, but I feel its gum/mints! Don’t party with the rockstars and drown us all with serious dragon breathe!@nakeva

  2. Nicole February 19, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    Great blog posting! I’ll be keeping this in mind for upcoming birthdays! To answer the above question – you MUST have business cards! You can’t go out and party without networking!

  3. Cait Shea McGrath February 19, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    Most obvious answer… cell phone. Your able to find out if there is something better going on, if its worth making the trek from point A to point B and than after a few drinks text your booty call to meet up later.

  4. Anonymous February 21, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    http://www.policydc.com – soft launches starting march 12 .. more details email info@policydc.com

  5. Sophie February 21, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    Great interview. My must-have for going out is probably my cell phone, but Cait already said that so let me think of something else…are credit cards products? 🙂

Leave a Reply

